Re Staging

Well, turning the lights back on for this thing.

With twitter’s fate uncertain, I’m casting about for any new place to hang out. Twitter did a lot, and I got exposure to people and things I never imagined I would find useful before. It kind of feels in retrospect like Babylon 5- lots of people coming and going. I could talk about something like my Captains game and people would come check it out. It was a nice boost for me to show that stuff I did was really neat enough to come by and comment on.

With it going away I don’t know what I want to do. I left Facebook because of their shady support of right wing messaging- something I want to get away from- and practically speaking its access is more exclusive than I’d like.

I’ll still remain on Twitter, but until it’s gone for good I think I’ll redirect folks here as a staging area for further discussion on my works, for anyone interested in continuing.

Additionally I thought about making a space to post my writing. In the past year I’ve been writing fanfiction for Evangelion as an exercise and stress test of my capabilities as a writer. I write officially for Homeworld now, as Homeworld Mobile’s Loremaster and lore-lead for two other Stratosphere projects. But I want a space to write for myself and I want to understand my limitations as a writer. Perhaps WordPress is that place where I can store my writing for the public to view- including original writing that isn’t appropriate for a place like Fanfiction.net.

So to anyone dropping in from Twitter, welcome. This blog wasn’t used for much before this- a lot of old posts on an aborted attempt to map Kharak and a few odds and ends. I’ll try to pay attention to this more and write here, though between starting this blog and now I’ve become a father of two during a global pandemic and my youngest isn’t vaccinated yet- my time is devoured by childcare and work. Twitter was nice that I can post something in a small moment before being carried away.

At any rate, welcome!

Re Staging

Leave a comment